The State of Colorado put together an initiative to encourage students to register to vote.  Students can register when they turn 16 but they can not vote until their are 18 years old.  Michelle Nauer started working with Ouray School and Evan Vann to encourse students to register.  According to Wayne Williams, Secretary of State, said that it is a lot harder than it sounds.  They have only awarded six awards so far.  Ouray High School was the sixth high school to receive the Eliza Pickrell Routt Award.  The requirement is that 85% of the senior class registered to vote.  Williams traveled from Denver to be at our awards ceremony because he feels it is important to recognize when students take the initiative to register to vote.